Home > Communication, Fun science, Misc > Funny prizes

Funny prizes

I ‘ve been pretty occupied recently, but now that things are better here are two awards that none shall miss.

The ig nobel price 2012:

As mentioned on the website the price award “achievements that first make people LAUGH then make them THINK”. My favourite are :

  1. The FLUID DYNAMICS PRIZE. There is no way someone could convince me that this kind of work is not absolutely useful. Every day while going back from the cafeteria in Agribio up to the office I face the puzzling question addressed by these authors and apparently I am not the only one hoping for eventual extension to other cups form
  2. The PEACE PRIZE. If ammunitions had any interesting use, I guess i could be this one
  3. The LITERATURE PRIZE. I wish the title doesn’t sound so familiar.

The IOCCC:

I sometime feels like a having an obsessive compulsive disorder regarding the presentation of codes (most often when the code was written by someone else and of course contains bugs that I may/should find)…Yes, I like commented code, self explanatory variable name, a nice indentation…so for sure when you have to compile this, you may fear the worst. The improbable but bare truth is that the code can be compiled (I don’t say that the compiler is not a bit worry) and last but not the least the executable works ! The participants really know what they are doing, I guess some of them should be professional code golfer

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

